Have you ever heard God speak?

The Tribe Lagos
The Tribe Stories
Published in
3 min readJan 23, 2018

The voice of God is the voice of a friend. Ever there, silent yet loud enough to be heard in a storm.

In our moments of weakness, God speaks loudest and if we listen and admit that we need Him, we will hear Him.

This has been the voice of God from the beginning

“Focus on me, If your eye be single, your body will be full of light. There are a lot of things on earth that distract men from seeing me. You must make every effort to see and focus on me in the midst of all these. The world cannot see me. But you will see me. And because you see me, you will live” — John chapter 14:19.

This may sound confusing at first, but take a look at an inner conversation between a young man named Johnny and God.

Johnny has been struggling with sin and is tired of falling and rising again and today he has decided to sit and have a chat with God.

“Dear Lord, I’m tired of this struggle. How do I really drown out the distractions and stay on track?”

“Dear son, this may sound simple but this is the secret. Love me… You shall love the Lord, your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength. (Mark chapter 12:30). I want you to be so filled with me that you have no more room for anything else. It is only when you are filled with my essence that all other lusts and desires fade away.”

“But I love you God…I do, though I must confess I struggle with giving you my all but I do”

“I know your struggles, Johnny. And you can never imagine how much it pains and grieves my heart. My last words on the cross were: ‘IT IS FINISHED’. It makes me sad when I see you struggle with what I have finished.”

“I’m so sorry, Lord, for causing you grief. But I try… I really try. I want to do your will.”

“Here lies the problem… I never told you to try, all I require of you is that you do not try”

“Hmm…. I don’t get it, how do you mean?”

“You see, Johnny, I sent Jesus to the cross for you. When He said ‘IT IS FINISHED’, I meant every word of it. Your life is a finished product from Calvary’s Factory. Stop trying on your own and surrender to the cross — John chapter 12:24. Your victory starts at the point of revelation of your death at Calvary. I did not call you to come to me so that I can change your life… I call you so you’ll lose your life. Death is the gateway to life… Johnny, I purchased you at the death of your old life at Calvary, that you may be the vessel where I will live my life on earth… You are not supposed to live anymore. You are supposed to let me live my life in you.”

“So you’ll live my life for me. Right?”

“No Johnny, I will live my life in you if you let me… Trust in me with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge me. I will direct your paths. Your hope of glory is based on your knowing and seeing this: That I am in you, walking, talking and living my life. You cannot live your life for me. Only allow me to live my life in you. The eagle soars, not by the labour of its wings, but by riding upon the currents of the wind.” Galatians 2:20

God speaks and His voice is the voice of a friend. Quiet out the noise and listen, He is ever near and ever willing to help.

Many of us struggle through life, just like Johnny, because we fail to surrender and let God do His bidding within us. True life only comes when we accept the death of our old nature.

--

--

The Tribe Lagos
The Tribe Stories

God Lovers, Experiencing and Expressing the very Heart of our Father | Meet us at Ahava Cafe, 7 Wole Olateju Street, Opp Access Bank, Off Admiralty Lekki Phase1