About Me

Emily Meyer
thetruthaboutprisons
1 min readApr 20, 2017
Source: The Huffington Post

My name is Emily Meyer. I am a student and I also work part time. My reason for doing this topic specifically is because I am tired of seeing people go into prison bad people, and coming out worse people. We send people to prison with the intention of forcing them to learn that they need to better themselves and do their best to become better, but we want to ignore the abuse that goes on in U.S. institutions and turn the other cheek.

If we are sending people to prisons and spending billions on incarceration very year, then we need to be using those resources to give people in prions the education, rehabilitation, and mental health therapy that they desperately need so they have an equal chance when their time is up and they are released. I believe in the country America can be, and what I do know is that I take pride in being American because I will be able to say that I am helping better our troubled brothers and sisters. If you don’t have the will to help others, what will do you have?

--

--