Movies

A Quiet Place: Day One — The Grace of the Human Spirit

Deniz Arslan
The Ugly Monster
3 min readAug 1, 2024

--

IMDb

When I watch disaster and survival-themed movies made today, I notice that they often try to explain how selfish and aggressive people can be in times of crisis. These movies try to confront us with this flaw of human nature.

In the early days of the Covid pandemic, there were news reports of people shopping for groceries like crazy, filling their homes with food and drink. People were fighting with each other to get the last products. I don’t belittle or blame people for behaving like that, because I was one of those people. If a similar catastrophe happened tomorrow, I would probably do the same thing, and I wouldn’t even think of sharing the food I filled my house with with my starving neighbor.

In the last century, human beings have experienced wars, epidemics, and natural disasters, and many times we have faced the fact that we are selfish, evil, and immoral. Or rather, some of us have. Those who don’t want to face this reality say that we should first fulfill our responsibilities towards ourselves and our families, that we have no responsibility towards other people who need help. I can’t say they are completely wrong. I don’t know what the most moral way to live is. That’s a difficult question, and I’ll leave it to philosophers and sociologists to answer.

--

--