Art | Politics | Star Wars

‘Andor’ and Fighting Fascism

Lady Horatia
The Ugly Monster
12 min readNov 13, 2023

--

Credit: Lucasfilm / Disney+

Andor is the prequel show to Rogue One. It follows the titular character of Cassian Andor at the start of his fight against the Empire. This is the pitch which one would find in a review of the show, or the summary you would find on a search engine. But it is not really what the show is about.

Andor is about a lot of different things. But I want to talk about something which the show is very clearly about. More than any other theme, this is the driving force of the show. It’s the central part of the show which connects all its disparate parts together into a whole and allows it to have a poignant and powerful political message.

Andor is about fighting fascism.

First off, when I use “Andor” I am referencing the show, and when I use “Cassian” I am referencing the character. This is just for clarity’s sake.

Credit: Lucasfilm / Disney+

Fascism is a Death Cult

The fight against fascism is never-ending. Fascism is a cult of tradition, which rejects modernism in all its forms. Its call to action is irrational and always violent, advocating for a cult of death and a cult of…

--

--

Lady Horatia
The Ugly Monster

Graduate of Arts from Padova. I write about whatever I feel like. Lover of films, TV shows, video games, and books. Consider supporting me with donations.