Science Fiction | Movies

Avatar: The Way of Water is really good as an aesthetic experience

Lady Horatia
The Ugly Monster
8 min readDec 29, 2022

--

Visually, Avatar: The Way of Water is the most stunning film I have seen in a long time. Although this must invariably come with its own caveat, as we need to understand what I mean by visually stunning.

I have experienced visually stunning films many times in my pursuit of film and its appreciation. Off the top of my head the most visually stunning films that I can remember are The Tree of Life, Knives Out, Eternals, and The Lighthouse.

There is nothing special about my taste in film, for my understanding of taste is one of a subjective nature. What is taste but what you can appreciate in art?

What makes Avatar 2 so visually stunning is how it can recreate a world never before seen in such great fidelity as to rival reality itself, and make many (myself included) believe that the production team went on location for these shots, when I know that could not have possibly been true.

Avatar 2 rivals any movie that has ever come out and probably will for many years. Upon seeing it, you can understand the delays. To simply grasp the absolute gargantuan technological feat that went into creating such high fidelity visuals so consistently and so beautifully for 3 hours is enough to make the movie…

--

--

Lady Horatia
The Ugly Monster

Graduate of Arts from Padova. I write about whatever I feel like. Lover of films, TV shows, video games, and books. Consider supporting me with donations.