Batman | DC Comics

Fact: Kevin Conroy Was Gay

Don’t let awful people drag him back into the Bat-Closet

Chad Parenteau
The Ugly Monster
Published in
6 min readDec 11, 2022

--

As a masochistic person still using Twitter and YouTube (the latter having given in to the Nazis long before Musk ever put his bid in for the blue bird), I have seen some wretched takes on voice actor Kevin Conroy both before and after his death, which are only signs of worse possible injustices to come. If people truly did value Conroy’s humanity (as many have professed these past weeks), then maybe they can do something about this.

I loved animation long before I even knew there was fandom attached to it. I was that guy watching cartoons I was way too old for. Batman: The Animated Series came out during my busy college years, but I watched it whenever I could. Growing up with corner-cutting companies like Hanna-Barbera, it was easy to see that the work of Conroy, Mark Hamill, Paul Dini, Bruce Timm, Andrea Romano and scores of others was giant leaps above everything I had seen before.

It was the strength of Conroy and Hamill that kept me attached to DC’s animated line, which was granted a wonderful years-spanning arc that ended stronger than it started. Conroy and his portrayal of Batman was arguably the single nexus point holding everything together.

--

--

Chad Parenteau
The Ugly Monster

Poet for Hire. Link to buy my new book, The Collapsed Bookshelf, available via my website: www.chadparenteaupoetforhire.com