Wrestling | Culture

Get Ready for the Heel Turn: WWE meets GOP

Vince McMahon might only have to stay out of jail a little longer

Chad Parenteau
The Ugly Monster
Published in
8 min readSep 22, 2024

--

Credit: Republican National Convention

Readers who subscribed to my Medium after my first wrestling piece might have wondered if I was ever going to write about wrestling again. They might have even wondered if I had thoughts about Wrestlemania 40 this past April. I ended up watching everything I could about the two-night show without actually purchasing it. After that, I came to the conclusion that World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) is just as great as Donald Trump at creating smokescreens and duping a fan base that wants to be duped.

After he stayed long enough to secure the merger between WWE and Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC ) parent company Zuffa, Vince McMahon left the WWE at the beginning of 2024 following allegations of sexual assault and trafficking by former employee Janel Grant.

With McMahon’s son-in-law Paul Levesque (better known to wrestling fans as Triple H) taking over booking, the perception is that the WWE is a new product. This only shows that the organization’s propaganda machine is working just as it always had under McMahon’s control and might even be more powerful than ever. If Trump does win the presidency, I won’t be surprised if both the WWE and McMahon family…

--

--

Chad Parenteau
The Ugly Monster

Poet for Hire. Link to buy my new book, The Collapsed Bookshelf, available via my website: www.chadparenteaupoetforhire.com