Horizon Forbidden West repeated everything that made Zero Dawn brilliant and added more. Credit: Guerrilla Twitter

Science Fiction | Video Games

Horizon Forbidden West — My Game of 2022

2022 was a good year for gaming, but nothing beat Horizon Forbidden West

Ben Thompson
The Ugly Monster
Published in
6 min readJan 12, 2023

--

Spoilers for Horizon Forbidden West

I’ve seen plenty of people picking their favourite games of 2022, with Elden Ring being that favourite. But since I didn’t play Elden Ring, I began to think about what mine was and it was pretty easy.

Despite the setting, Aloy is incredibly relatable with strengths and flaws that could be found in all of us. Credit: PlayStation YouTube

I finished this game over the Christmas and New Year’s period. It had brilliant gameplay, the characters were perfectly written and the plot was amazingly executed. On top of all that, it was the perfect sequel to one of my favourite PS4 games.

It was easy to pick God of War Ragnarök as my game of 2022 (in case you missed it, you might want to read the title).

I was set on picking God of War Ragnarök as my favourite game of 2022. Everything about it was perfect. I even wrote up my notes for this article. However, between now and then I went back to finish Horizon Forbidden West. Once I finished it, I changed everything.

--

--

Ben Thompson
The Ugly Monster

Writer, Hotel Employee, New YouTuber and Full Time Nerd. Just writing about what I find important and what is interesting. https://twitter.com/ben_thom2392