The Ugly Monster
Published in

The Ugly Monster

Playing Every Game in the Bundle for Racial Justice and Equality

PEGBRJE: INNER Anthology and Cat Ace


Look at him go.

INNER Anthology is a collection of mini horror and atmospheric exploration games created by DarkStone Digital, a solo dev in the USA. They wer featured previously with his title The Subject. This anthology is where all ‘case files’ are placed, where the games created around the larger projects will be uploaded.

Currently there is only a single case, called ‘Michael’. It it, players will follow a person undergoing hypnosis therapy to wrestle with their inner thoughts and history. Following some exposition, players will awaken to find themselves in a dark building in their mind, full of chain link fences and storage units. Exploration is done in the dark, with only a flashlight to help, searching for the reason why they are here.

The storage units are actually where Michael’s memories are stored. Certain memories can be interacted with to gain more information on his past and how he came to be who he is. We are not the only ones lurking within this place, however. After some exploration, another hooded figure will appear out of the corner of the eye. They too are wandering around, but unlike the player they know what they want; Michael. Upon getting close, they will chase the player until they are out of sight, returning back to their wanderings until they see him again. Players can outrun the hooded figure, but their running ability is a meter with a cooldown. If players are caught without enough meter they will not survive to find safety.

It’s a neat little concept, visualizing the past decisions and repercussions of a teenaged boy just trying to fit in. Each locker has more snippets to help understand his plight, and the constant fear of needing to hide from his pursuers helps to accentuate the feeling. Of course, this is all in his head, but the fear still remains. It’s not long, with difficulty ramping up a bit too quickly at times, but it can give you a fight if you’re looking for it.

Currently, Michael is the only case file, so be on the lookout for updates on any new titles that might get added.

Ignore the smoke, it’s not important.

Cat Ace is an arcade flight shooter created by Misc. Labs, an indie developer based out of Sweden. Players are the titular cat, ace pilot ready to shoot down all of their enemies for as long as possible.

As the cat ace, players must survive wave after wave of seemingly never-ending enemies. This begins with simple fighter jets and slowly advances to more terrifying fliers. Every kill the player gets will increase their multiplier score, scoring even more points, but it also has a chance of spawning a weapon upgrade. These transform the default weapon, giving it a larger bullet spread, adding missiles. etc. By picking up a second upgrade, it completely overwrites the previous one. If players are enjoying a specific weapon, they’ll want to avoid accidentally grabbing another one.

That is actually difficult in practice, since the nature of dogfights has players flying directly at their opponents to avoid missing. Veering away at the last second becomes a crucial skill.

It’s a smaller title, but Cat Ace gives everything that players might want out of a simple arcade title. It’s endless, allowing for constant scaling as players get better at and get to farther waves, while still being extremely simple to pick up and play. There is no barrier to entry, only that you want to be a cat and shoot at planes. If that sounds like your thing, then I’ve got the game for you.



Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Jacob Vorstenbosch

Jacob Vorstenbosch

Just a Game Dev who decided to take on the monumental task of giving an overview of all 59 pages in the bundle for Racial Justice and Equality. We keep going.