Comics

Shade, the Changing Man: My Frustrating Journey to Collect an Entire Comic Book Run

Heather Veley
The Ugly Monster
12 min readSep 17, 2023

--

Photo by Heather Veley

Back in college, I made the executive decision to get back into American comic books. I used to read comics when I was a kid, even going so far as permanently borrowing some floppies from my old piano teacher, but once the anime train rolled into town, I hopped on it without a second thought.

Anyways, I dove into the usual titles like Batman and basically read anything that looked interesting to me. I came across many gems and duds in that period. Then one day after graduation, while I was combing over the back-issues, I stumbled across a series from the 90s written by Peter Milligan.

Shade, the Changing Man

Photo by Heather Veley

At the time, I had never heard of the character, the writer, or the artist; I didn’t even know what the plot was. But the covers looked fascinating and I got a thumbs up from the shop owner so I thought “why not?” I purchased the first six issues and took them back to my crappy first apartment to read. (We all had to start somewhere.)

--

--