Gaming

The Chinese Cultural and Mythological Roots of Xianzhou Luofu in ‘Honkai: Star Rail’

Michelle Kwan
The Ugly Monster
7 min readApr 21, 2024

--

Exalting Sanctum (Taken by Author)

The last time I wrote about Honkai: Star Rail was 9 months ago! However, unlike Genshin Impact (I decided to give up on its massive file size and just revisit it on PC someday...), I have managed to stay on top of all the missions (almost done with Penacony!), and my love for it hasn’t stopped.

Related Articles:
1. How Honkai: Star Rail Captured My Heart Through a Simple Text Message
2. Tracing Chinese Folklore in Genshin Impact

In celebration of my favourite mobile game’s first anniversary next week, let’s revisit it and discuss one of my favourite topics: Chinese cultural and mythological influences in video games. In Genshin Impact, it was Liyue. And in Honkai: Star Rail, the Xianzhou Luofu.

Oh, this? Nothing… Just my favourite character in-game... (Credit: MiHoYo)

Besides the beautiful locale and my favourite boy, Imbibitor Lunae (in case you wanted an update, he did come home, and sits comfortably at the VIP spot of my team), the Xianzhou Luofu region of Honkai: Star Rail is rich with Chinese cultural and mythical influences. Here are some inspirations behind Honkai: Star Rail’s Xianzhou Luofu.

--

--

Michelle Kwan
The Ugly Monster

Aspiring Narrative Designer/Game Writer + Avid Storyteller. I mostly write about games, but sometimes I go off-track and write about other things too.