Books | Horror

‘The Werewolf of Paris’ Explores Humanity’s Dark Side

Guy Endore’s ‘The Werewolf of Paris’ is one of the finest werewolf stories ever told

Yusuf Ali
The Ugly Monster
Published in
4 min readFeb 23, 2024

--

Credit: Farrar & Rinehart

I took a seminar on mythical monsters in my first year of college. A freshman seminar was required, but the choice of which one to take was all mine. As a child, I was always fascinated by gothic horror, and Bram Stoker's ‘Dracula’ remains one of my favorite books. That is why I chose Monsters of Mythologies for my freshman seminar. That course exposed me to various gothic horror books and characters, inspiring me to read and learn more.

Reading horror and learning about monsters led me to the historical horror fiction novel ‘The Werewolf of Paris,’ one of the earliest werewolf stories ever. Probably one of the finest werewolf stories ever told, this horror novel by American author Guy Endore inspired many werewolf stories told on screen and in literature. The importance of this book to werewolf fiction is equal to that of Dracula in vampire fiction.

Petra Mayer of National Public Radio included ‘The Werewolf of Paris’ in her 100 favorite horror stories. Hence, I decided to read it. It was a tremendous and thought-provoking experience. ‘The Werewolf of Paris’ is among my top 5 favorite books.

--

--

Yusuf Ali
The Ugly Monster

Graphics | Data | Languages | Movies | Books | Poems | Fiction