Science Fiction | Comic Books

Transmetropolitan (a review)

Heather Veley
The Ugly Monster
5 min readDec 18, 2020

--

Yes, I am aware of the accusations against Warren Ellis at the moment. No, I won’t go into it.

Whether or not the accusations are true, they’re not going to stop me from talking about one of my favorite comics. Let me have some time to gush and please don’t pack the comment sections about the case. Just separate the author from the comic for about fifteen minutes. Okay?

Back to our scheduled program!

Transmetropolitan is a 60-issue series published between 1997 and 2002; the first twelve issues were published by the Helix imprint and the rest were published by Vertigo (both owned by DC). It was written by Warren Ellis, of The Authority and Planetary, and was mostly illustrated by Darick Robertson who worked on The Boys and HAPPY!

I avoided this series for a long time because I saw the cover of Spider Jerusalem smoking a cigarette and thought that it was too cool for me. It wasn’t until someone on r/comicbooks recommended it that I finally gave it a go.

It was not what I expected, but in a good way.

--

--