Movies | Marvel

WEIRDO Reviews: Thor: Love and Thunder *No Spoilers*

It’s a wonderful mess.

Elias Hernandez
The Ugly Monster

--

Image by Disney

Although I’m late to the game, I figured I would give my two cents on the MCU’s 29th film in light of its Disney+ release. For Thor’s fourth solo outing, director Taika Waititi was let off the leash after the success of 2017’s Thor: Ragnarok. However, with time to fully process this fever dream of a blockbuster, I’m not entirely sure that was the best decision.

Exhilarating action scenes and stellar performances aside, the movie favors comedy over substance. Throughout its 2-hour runtime, I found myself consistently exhausted with the amount of jokes I was supposed to laugh at. I get it, it’s Marvel, but it makes me wonder if they feel the audience is incapable of handling the depth and emotion other comic book movies have invoked. Unfortunately, though it’s a fun enough time, the potential the film had to be something truly special is squandered by abysmal ideas, cheap gags, and odd execution.

The biggest highlight was easily Christian Bale’s Gorr the God Butcher, who feels criminally underutilized as the flick’s main villain. With such legendary talent as well as the various cameos throughout, you would think such thespians would be given much more to do. At least Natalie Portman’s Mighty Thor is a welcome addition to the Asgardian line of warriors.

At best, this drug-fueled concoction is the wackiest and most colorful background film to have on while doing house chores. At worst, it’s a disappointing addition to a dwindling franchise in need of course-correction. I’m all for a good time, but without any direction, it’s difficult to become excited for Thor’s future, let alone the MCU as a whole. Let’s hope the recently announced slate of movies for Phases 5 and 6 prove me wrong.

Rating: 2/5

--

--