Why Giving is Better Than Taking in Design

Hannah Kowalczyk-Harper
3 min readJun 23, 2016

When I discovered how much graphic design not only affects beauty, but function, I began to dabble in it. I became eternally grateful for people who gave away free icons, UI kit features, and posted their work to inspire others. Now that I’ve been increasing my graphic design skills, it’s easy for me to see why designers are willing to give so much away for free.

With great power comes great responsibility. In general, good design makes life easier. Whether you work for a school, hospital, nonprofit, or anything else, careful design of a website or app can make ordering supplies a breeze. It can help make life more delightful and free up time. In the case of something like healthcare forms, it can greatly affect decisions you make about your finances and health. Designers have the power to dramatically influence people’s lives.

Freebies are a tool you can use to hone your craft. When designers post their work, sometimes they ask for feedback rather than money. Getting advice from people who have a different perspective than you is invaluable. Later on, your increased skills provided by the feedback can create far more monetary gains.

It’s always a good idea to have an abundance mentality. I cannot stress enough how important it is to hold an abundance mentality. This goes for any profession. If you believe that there is only a limited market for your field, you are setting yourself up for failure. By boosting others, you actually create a greater demand for your services or product, which in turn benefits you.

You have the power to inspire. I truly believe that inspiring others is the most fulfilling feeling you can possess. Whenever somebody tells me that one of my articles has impacted them, it feels like I’m floating. A beautiful, useful design, has endless potential to motivate people to create their own vision.

It’s no wonder that designers give so much away for free. You see this a lot on Dribbble among other places. My account is a prospect, so I can’t post there, but I would love to give my own freebie to my fellow Medium users. It is by no means perfect, but please feel free to use any elements from it that you wish.

Click here to access the full zip file.

Please don’t forget to hit the recommend button (that cute, little heart)!

For more like this you can also hit the follow button.

--

--

Hannah Kowalczyk-Harper

Freelance writer & editor. Feel free to reach out at hannahkharper @ gmail.com