“Destruction by Definition”: Album Review

R.J. Quinn
TheWeeklyAlbum
Published in
2 min readNov 21, 2022
Album Artwork of “Destruction by Definition”, The Suicide Machine’s debut album.

Tony Hawk Pro Skater! If you’ve played it, you’ve heard the track. I thought of “New Girl” as a one-hit-wonder, but I was tipped off that the album as a whole was good. Indeed, it has some gems on there worth checking out. My favorite tracks in order are:

“New Girl”

“Hey”

“S.O.S”

“Vans Song”

“Our Time”

“Islands”

“Bronze”

“Real You”

“I Don’t Want to Hear it”

In particular I recommend “Hey” especially if you have a penchant for heavier rock/punk or metal. The ragged horn just kinda put a smile on my face, reminiscent of Junior Wells on “Bad Bad Whiskey”.

A friend commented on this song as almost having a mariachi influence. I’ve never thought about ska and mariachis being similar, but it’s there! The rapid syllables and upstrokes mixed with horns. Pretty cool.

“Our Time” just gives me a delicious notion of being at a concert. This song comes on and boom: everybody’s moshing.

“S.O.S.” and “Vans Song” are two songs that I could very much see on a Tony Hawk Pro Skater soundtrack. After hearing them over and over and over, they very well might have been the one-hit and “New Girl” would have been a gem. I guess “New Girl” just has a little bit more instant-like factor. I’m glad to say the track doesn’t go flat after a while. I still love hearing it!

--

--

R.J. Quinn
TheWeeklyAlbum

Ex-Chemist, current lumberjack. Bottom Medium writer. Music, Games, Poetry, Transcendentalism. Chief editor of TheWeeklyAlbum, Ixnay on the Oufflé & Epic Poems