Five Writing Tools For Compelling Environmental Communication

Use these tools to guide you in making better communication choices in your nature writing and environmental storytelling

Gavin Lamb, PhD
Wild Ones

--

Mallard, the head under water (1900–1930) by Ohara Koson (1877–1945). Original from The Rijksmuseum. On rawpixel (Public Domain).

I’m always on the search for new writing tools: tools for doing better research, for better conveying my ideas, and especially, for getting writing done. “The best piece is a finished piece” was my mantra in grad school. There are plenty of psychological obstacles that stand between us and a finished piece of writing.

The worst writing obstacles tend to be of our own making. Those psychological demons we like to conjure that taunt us from our imagined finish line. They make us focus all our energy on the anticipation of some hoped-for outcome when what would help us instead is the right tool to accomplish the immediate step we need to take right in front of us.

Below are five tools to help you not just complete one writing step at a time, but to make those steps compelling for the reader to too. I’ve found these eco-writing tools and guides useful in my own nature writing and environmental storytelling, whether for doing research more effectively, writing more persuasively, or getting words out of my head and onto the blank page.

--

--

Gavin Lamb, PhD
Wild Ones

I’m a researcher and writer in ecolinguistics and environmental communication. Get my weekly digest of ecowriting tools: https://wildones.substack.com/