Gun, America, Healing…

Nikesh Murali
The Word Manifesto
Published in
3 min readFeb 25, 2018

This week’s readings were strongly driven by yet another mass shooting in an American school. A lot of people found solace in poetry, especially through this magnificent poem by Maggie Smith.

Poetry became a way to make sense of a cruel world, then a salve for the wounded heart.

Also the voice of rage, of protest.

Poetry affirmed the light in our lives.

Became a clarion call for hope.

Poetry has been my salvation for a long time. This week, I got to see how it was true for thousands of souls on this planet.

On a totally different note :), I am strongly considering Brad’s suggestion to call my readings, a dulcet anthology.

I hope you enjoy the readings below.

--

--

Nikesh Murali
The Word Manifesto

Acclaimed spokenword artist. Commonwealth Story 👑 winner. Cre8r original 👂shows for @audible. Voice of 🇮🇳’s #1 storytelling podcast IndianNoir.com