What Do You Like In A Journal? [Weekend Chit-Chat]

K. Tempest Bradford
The Write Gear Blog
2 min readJun 17, 2016

Welcome to the Chit-Chat post, which is a semi-open thread for conversations about writing and gear and related stuff. This week, I have a question for you:

What kind of journals do you like to write in?

Image from GouletPens.com

I ask because I have real specific preferences when it comes to journals. See?

Given how hard it is for me to find the kind I like, I can only assume that my preferences aren’t shared by the majority of journal users. Or so the journal makers would have me believe.

So what do you like in a journal?

Spiral, perfect, case, or saddle-stitch binding?

Ruled, dotted, grid, or blank?

Hard cover or soft?

Size?

Fancy or plain?

Paper quality?

Moleskine, PaperBlanks, Leuchtturm, Rhodia, Clairefontaine, other?

Spill it all in the comments!

Listen to all past episodes of The Write Gear, or…

Subscribe to The Write Gear viaiTunes, Google Play, or RSS.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, or here on Medium.

--

--

K. Tempest Bradford
The Write Gear Blog

Spec Fic author, media critic, tech journalist. Host of ORIGINality, creator of the Tempest Challenge.