Things I’m Happy I Published in 2017

Scott Beggs
thewriting
Published in
4 min readDec 29, 2017

17 favorites in no particular order

Running down the Italian neorealism roots of Master of None

Appreciating the perfection of Sam Elliott playing Sam Elliott in The Hero at Sundance

(Plus this documentary at Sundance that hasn’t gotten nearly enough love for its ingenuity and intrigue.)

Speaking of sad men trying to do good, you should watch Crashing

The year’s best movie…which you might be able to see in a year or two

Eerie things about everyone’s favorite day

Marvel uses the same tactic your bank does to have you hooked

A piece of very, very short fiction (one-word title, 100-word tale)

(I also have a short story coming out in the Winter edition of MYTHIC Magazine, which I’m thrilled about.)

Movies with interesting connections to Dunkirk

(I love doing this feature for slashfilm because it let my mind go to some weird places. This was my favorite entry, but my Almost Famous-referencing piece for Spider-Man: Homecoming was a close second.)

Guardians of the Galaxy 2 is a Friendsgiving movie

(But here are all the superheroes who should die in Infinity War.)

I flew to Atlanta to watch Colm Feore act out a lobotomy

My most-read article of the year involves two geniuses turning their cartoon scientist into a pickle

Red Weddings have been replaced by resurrections

IT succeeded by owning the Stephen Kingiest trope of all

(And here are all 44 of his movies ranked.)

A childhood classic that holds up through adult eyes

There really were a lot of tragic clowns floating around in 2017

Also, Dustin was the real hero of Stranger Things, just for one day

(And the biggest threat to the children is the time period they live in.)

Finally, if you’re on the wrong side of Superman, you’re on the wrong side

This selection is from over 300 articles I got the privilege to write this year, for a wide variety of articles. I also got to see an old Star Wars articles I wrote reprinted for a special bookazine from Vanity Fair, which was incredible. Never doubt the power of holding your writing, on paper, in your hand.

Fingers crossed for 2018.

--

--

Scott Beggs
thewriting

Movie Stuff @VanityFair @Thrillist @IndieWire @rejectnation @brokenprojector | Writing short stories at http://www.adventitious.net