Life Lessons: Water Aerobics Makes a Splash

Scissor Kicks and Lunges for a Stroke-ster

Bonni Brodnick
The Writing Prof

--

Photo by Taylor Simpson on Unsplash

I feel weightless as I scuttle to the edge of the pool. With my speech at a new, slow cadence that I have trouble getting used to, I explain to the water aerobics teacher that I had a stroke.

So, if I was a little slow with the lunges, twists, and v-kicks, that was why. The teacher assured me that the class was perfect for rehabilitation and total body strengthening.

On water aerobic days, I was proud to be driving myself to the gym. I worked hard to have the privilege reactivated. There was an entire day of reviewing Rules of the Road in Occupational Therapy, six hours of behind-the-wheel driver’s ed with an instructor, and a written driving test. After all of that, I was always grateful and glad to get to my destination.

Once at the gym, I changed, walked slowly onto the pool deck, and eased myself into the shallow end. The water was always warm. I appreciated these simple moments, like the uplifting feeling of my slack muscles getting stronger.

--

--

Bonni Brodnick
The Writing Prof

Writer. Creative. Thinker. Humorist. Author of "My Stroke in the Fast Lane" + "Pound Ridge Past." A proud Stroke Survivor. Visit me at bonnibrodnick.com