Raining Joy

Alma Writer
thewrytr.
Published in
2 min readOct 24, 2019
Photo by Gabriele Diwald on Unsplash

Rain rain rain…

I love the rain,
I love lying in bed,
listening to it patter pleasantly.

I love snuggling in bed, cozy,
with some hot crispy snacks in my hand,
enjoying the coolness that the rain brings.

I love stretching my hand out into it,
and watching my hands soak in bliss
as the cool lucid droplets trickle down
my palm, down to my elbows.

I love the sweet, earthly smell of wet mud
that it brings with its first showers.
I believe, that the smell has a small love story behind it.

The raindrops love the mud,
the earth, that calls out to it,
begging in thirst to be united with it.

The attraction is so strong,
that the raindrops break and surpass all barriers,
to come down, rushing incessantly,
to unite with its love, the earth.

The smell that blankets the surroundings,
after the first showers,
is the fragrance of their rapturous,
unbreakable love.

Ah! Such a sweet romance can be written
by none but our Mother Nature indeed!
The rain brings with it joy and refreshment.
It washes away our sorrows
and bathes us in pleasant feelings.

The birds sing in happiness,
welcoming the rain, as they retreat
into their warm homes.
The peacocks dance in joy,
loving the rain as much as we do.

The world unites, unknowingly,
as their souls cry out in glee,
at the gentle drops
that Mother Nature brings us.

Rain rain rain…

Yes, I do love rain.

--

--

Alma Writer
thewrytr.

Sensitive Indian teen keen to play a role in God's beautiful yet destructive creation- this big, bad world.