Upon A Rhino’s Lap

Andy Boerger Andy Boerger
thewrytr.
Published in
1 min readMay 10, 2017

My favorite place for perching is upon a rhino’s lap

It’s there I daydream/ sing/ imagine/ read and take a nap.

It’s spacious as a royal mattress, or a sultan’s chair,

and all the while the rhino’s giant snout shades me from glare.

A rhino’s faulty eyesight gives a Rhino Sitter clearance

to worry not a tad about one’s looks or one’s appearance.

His mild, placid manner means you seldom need to worry

that he will suddenly aright and take off in a hurry.

I sat upon an ostrich once, but nothing’s more preposterous!

I’m taking no more chances and will stay with my rhinoceros.

And though I’m yet a youngling there’s one thing for sure I know;

one’s life passes most pleasantly when perched on a rhino!

(‘Upon A Rhino’s Lap’ originally appears in A Grownup’s Garden of Verses, a collection of art and poetry by Andy Boerger)

--

--