Creative Project

Hannah Quigley
They Call Her Doctor.
3 min readApr 22, 2017
Hannah Quigley. Self Portrait. 2017
Debora Phipps. Self portrait. 1976

For my wildcard section of my portfolio, I chose to do two creative projects.

I initially wanted to incorporate art, given that my mother and I are both self-made artists. Art connects us. Studio art is special to our relationship in the family. When I was a little girl, my favorite days were when my mother tried to teach me to draw. My mother, who normally has no patience, tolerantly waited as I learned to shade spheres and find the right eye for proportions. Despite all the issues my mother and I may have, drawing always put those things behind us. It always helped me see a deeper, more nurturing side to her.

I always enjoyed seeing my mom’s old artwork. Her self-portrait was always my favorite. So, for this part of my creative project, I decided to do my own self-portrait and put it next to my mothers. Maybe you can see the similarities and differences in our styles. In her self-portrait she has a better use of light and smoother finish. My marks are more abrupt and quick. Our differing styles symbolizes our relationship. My mother is one of the most particular people I know. She puts a lot of time into everything, and then makes it look like it is done easily. I, on the other hand, have a tendency to be very spontaneous and quick. Both styles symbolize us. Even though they are both different, they show our individuality. This makes them masterpieces.

I wanted the second part of my creative project to have more of a scientific twist to it. My father, a small-town doctor, explains episiotomies visually in a way that anyone can understand it. An episiotomy is the practice of making a cut in a vagina, so as to make a baby’s delivery faster. While at times the procedure is used as an emergency procedure, when my mother started practicing medicine doctors used episiotomies whimsically. I suspect doctors used the practice nonchalantly due to the fact that females only made up eleven percent of the population at the time. My dad was the first person to tell me that my mom stood up to male professors and residents in medical school who encouraged this practice. He always admired her for it. I admire her quality of standing up for what is right as well. That is why I asked for this demonstration. Whether it makes you queasy or awkwardly laugh, I hope it is informational and shows you why my mother felt like she needed to stand up for her female patients.

Dr. John Quigley’s visual representation of an episiotomy.

--

--