Welcome to The Zinery!

Joy Celine Asto
The Zinery
Published in
2 min readAug 31, 2017

Two years ago, I started exploring the liberating world of self-publishing after a year of browsing zines, poking around events, and doing personal photography projects. It took me months of choosing photos, designing, and fine-tuning before I published my first photo zine called Wayward. It was one of the biggest creative projects I did, and it made me curious about the biggest creative projects that people would come up with if they were uninhibited.

Now, in this part of my adventure, I want to feed that curiosity. I want to see more zines, get to know the stories and inspirations behind them, and share my insights about them in this little space. Hell, I even want to try helping other people make their own zines, if they’d let me.

That said, welcome to The Zinery, which will house zine reviews + self-publishing resources + zine culture stories + more (hopefully). I’m open to collaborations, zine submissions for review, or anything else about self-publishing and zine culture that you’d like to share. Get in touch with me through thezinerypress@gmail.com and let’s take it from there!

Joy

--

--

Joy Celine Asto
The Zinery

I mess with words, play with photos, and get drunk on coffee. I write about art, travel, and photography. www.joycelineasto.com