Game Plan

Shelda Kristie
Thin Concrete Shell Structure
2 min readDec 3, 2017

Bamboo form work structure.

The time has come where I have to make up my mind on what I will do for my graduation project. Back in June, Bates Smart pitched their idea of a thin concrete shell structure and I was immediately sold. I had a head start with experimenting with fabricating not-so-thin concrete shells for UNSW’s Vice Chancellor’s visit and once more for the sponsor’s visit.

After these experiments, I am too involved not to do anything on thin concrete shell related. I even made this publication with logos. So here’s the game plan: bamboo form work for thin concrete shell structures.

The reasoning behind bamboo is that it is a cheaper and more sustainable material compared to the high tech, high precision ETH version of the HiLo Nest’s form work. Bamboo is also a material that is widely available in South East Asian countries. This location is selected as it has tropic climate and a large amount of rainy season which usually leads to flooding. Kingsley’s research on Thin Concrete Shell is on the optimising the shape of the the shell for rain water pooling and also controlling the flow of rain water.

So here is a list of how I will break down my research:

  1. Bamboo
  2. Nodes
  3. Prototype
A quick slide of where my project is heading to.

--

--