A RAND Study Destroyed the Concept of Unfettered Capitalism and Nobody Noticed

It happened two years ago and hasn’t gotten much attention since it came out.

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

--

Photo by Jorge Salvador on Unsplash

Two years ago, I was scrolling through my daily Medium newsletter, and I came across a Fast Company article from October 6, 2020. It neatly sums up the outcome of a RAND study which found that had incomes kept up with the economy, the median income would be about $42,000 higher than it currently is. Here’s the article if you’re interested.

The study itself is loaded with interesting data, which I’ve gone through with my layman’s knowledge, but the linked article sums it up nicely. Here’s the actual report, if you’re a data wonk and would like to read it:

The study found that across basically every demographic that was measurable in their timeframe (1975–2018), real income growth for the vast majority of people did not keep up with economic growth. Their premise was that measuring across all quintiles (that’s every 20%) of income brackets, income growth should roughly match…

--

--

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

I write about everything from my experience with mental illness to politics to philosophy. Much of my so-called "wisdom" is from Tumblr dot com. He/him/his.