A Tribute to Those With No Mothers

It’s going to be fine.

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

--

A person sits on the edge of a stone window opening, flanked by vertical metal bars on either side. They look out onto an ocean view. Clouds are gathering in the distance.
Photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash

Here’s a tribute to those with no mothers.

Those who have lost their mothers for any reason.

Death.

Disownment.

Abandonment.

Absence.

Some combination of those things.

I hope your day is full of nice things and not painful reminders.

I hope that, if you are a mother yourself, you get the celebration you deserve.

I hope that, if you miss your mother, you are able to celebrate that memory properly.

I hope that, if you don’t miss your mother, you can take this day to celebrate yourself.

I hope that, if you have a chosen mother in a chosen family, that you can enjoy her time and company.

I hope that, no matter what your situation, you can have a good, or at least decent, day today.

Please accept my tribute, from one person with no mother to another.

This day is hard for those of us who have no mother for whatever reason. I lost my mother years ago — thankfully not to death or disease, but to a family fallout that destroyed whatever relationship I had with her.

--

--

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

I write about everything from my experience with mental illness to politics to philosophy. Much of my so-called "wisdom" is from Tumblr dot com. He/him/his.