Breaking: Personal Finance Article Offers More Disingenuous Advice

The solution to the savings crisis? Save more money, apparently.

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day
Published in
7 min readMar 19, 2024

--

A piggy bank wearing a surgical mask.
Photo by Konstantin Evdokimov on Unsplash

This morning, once again and against my better judgment, I clicked a personal finance article from my news feed. And, once again, I was disappointed in what I read. Not because it was a depressing statistic about the state of the American consumer in our current capitalist hellscape (although it was), but because of how the article was couched.

The article in question was about how more than half of Americans cannot afford a $1,000 expense from their savings, instead having to float it on their credit cards or some other approach. As someone who is currently in that camp, it resonates with me in the worst way — I don’t like having less than $1,000 in my savings account, but that’s how things are at the moment.

Still, the fact that, again, more than half of Americans have less than $1,000 in savings was not as depressing to me as how the whole article was written. The first third of it was written as though consumers are the ones primarily at fault for not saving more money.

Seriously, check out these quotes directly from the article:

“The reality is that we are, unfortunately, essentially living in a paycheck-to-paycheck…

--

--

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

I write about everything from my experience with mental illness to politics to philosophy. Much of my so-called "wisdom" is from Tumblr dot com. He/him/his.