How Can I Possibly Relate to Gay Love Stories?

The same way I relate to straight ones.

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

--

One woman laughing while a second woman kisses her on the cheek. They are wearing rainbow attire and are both smiling.
Photo by Brian Kyed on Unsplash

I have seen a lot of stuff from straight, generally conservative commentators about the increase in LGBTQIA+ characters in media, and as such an increase in relationships between queer characters. They make a bunch of arguments about how this is bad, generally based around the immorality of being queer in any form, or whatever the latest cultural panic is on the right.

These arguments are mostly garbage, along the lines of “oh no! Gay people exist! How could this be? Who let this happen? Think of the children! All of this gay stuff in the media will turn my child gay somehow!” All the typical moral panic nonsense that permeates the right’s uptight puritanical approach to everything.

However, there is one argument that I actually want to touch on. It’s just as garbage as the others, but I feel like it actually warrants addressing: the argument that straight people can’t relate to a queer relationship or love story.

It’s generally along the lines of “I’m a man in a relationship with a woman! How am I supposed to feel anything about two men or two women kissing each other? I have no idea how to relate to them!”

First off, are you a lizard person who doesn’t know what it means to be human? Do you lack…

--

--

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

I write about everything from my experience with mental illness to politics to philosophy. Much of my so-called "wisdom" is from Tumblr dot com. He/him/his.