I Just Want This Year to be Over Now, Please

It’s just been one thing after another.

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

--

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

It looks like 2022 is another year in the “L” column for me.

So far this year, I had four solid months of stressful work, found my friend’s body in a bathtub, had to take time off of work because of the stress, had to have my home’s foundation repaired to the tune of $73,000, and had to deal with all of that negatively affecting my work performance.

Life is nothing but stress points, it seems — not just for me, but for many people in my orbit and in general. Years ago, I once asked a coworker if life ever stopped throwing stupid expenses and curveballs at you; she said no, it never really lets up. I know I’m looking forward to another 40 years of shitty things happening to me constantly.

I am so tired right now, and I am yet again at the point where sleep does not seem to help, which is a telltale sign of depression for me. Thankfully I have an appointment with both my therapist and my prescriber this week, so I can at least start the process of talking it out with them.

It just frustrates me how stressful life can get sometimes, but it always feels like there is no recourse for any of it. It would be nice if I made more money, and I’m sure most of us feel the same, but there aren’t a lot of options…

--

--

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

I write about everything from my experience with mental illness to politics to philosophy. Much of my so-called "wisdom" is from Tumblr dot com. He/him/his.