I’ve Never Been Poor, But I’ll Never Be Far From It

Two missed paychecks from disaster.

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

--

An unhoused man sits sleeping on a bench next to a suitcase with a sign that reads “Hungry. Anything Helps. God Bless.”
Photo by Steve Knutson on Unsplash

Almost three years ago, I wrote a piece entitled “I’ve Never Been Poor: Growing Up Middle Class and the Grocery Store Test.” In that article, I talk about my experiences growing up in the middle class, and eventually in the upper-middle class, in the context of a trip to the grocery store.

You see, there is a particular test that many people use to figure out if they’ve ever been poor, and that’s grocery shopping. For a person like me, who has never had the experience of being poor, I can go off my list and get the occasional splurge. Picking up a tub of ice cream on a whim isn’t going to destroy my budget.

For a lot of people, though, grocery shopping is a complicated math problem. You have to make every penny count at the grocery store, since going just a dollar or two over your budget could potentially mean a $35 overdraft fee. A carton of eggs going up in price by 30 cents could mean putting something else back because that’s just not tenable to your budget.

As I have said, I have personally never had this particular experience, and for that I feel incredibly lucky. More and more people these days are counting their pennies at the grocery store. These days, discount grocers are exploding, Walmart is doing well, and…

--

--

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

I write about everything from my experience with mental illness to politics to philosophy. Much of my so-called "wisdom" is from Tumblr dot com. He/him/his.