Quiet Quitting? Nah. Try “Acting Your Wage”

Adhere to your job description, set boundaries, and separate your life from your work.

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

--

Photo by Cookie the Pom on Unsplash

It seems like “quiet quitting” is the new “great resignation.” Well, just like with the latter, I have opinions about the former. For those who have managed to avoid reading about quiet quitting until now, you have my admiration for making it this far, and you are welcome to turn back now. My feelings won’t be hurt, I promise.

Still with me? Good.

Quiet quitting is a term coined by grumpy managers to describe employees who have the audacity to do things like “setting boundaries” and “only working their assigned hours” and other egregious sins. If you dare to leave exactly at 5:00, you’re a quiet quitter, apparently.

Basically, if it’s something that falls outside of your job responsibilities, you don’t do it. You do only the work assigned to you, no more, no less, and when work is over, you leave for the day. You set boundaries with your bosses, don’t make yourself available outside of work hours, and don’t pick up or accept unreasonable amounts of work. You follow your job description to the letter, no more no less.

To me, this is the ideal state of work-life balance. You show up, do your job, go home, and live your life. The…

--

--

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

I write about everything from my experience with mental illness to politics to philosophy. Much of my so-called "wisdom" is from Tumblr dot com. He/him/his.