Selling Success: Why “Hustle Culture” is a Hustle

Anyone selling you their secret to success is really just selling you.

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

--

Photo by Garrhet Sampson on Unsplash

I have come to loathe hustle culture. Everything about it feels like the upshots of American capitalism gone haywire. Especially as a millennial, I’ve been sold the hustle culture as something I should aspire to. Honestly, it’s part of the reason I write on Medium: I was hoping to make some extra money, maybe make a name for myself.

Of course, I read about Medium in a blog post about blogging and how to make money from it. Some blogger or another (or probably several of them) has a blog that tells you how to make money from a blog. At the time, I was interested in making more money from my writing, and Medium seemed like a solid place to start.

I’ve never made a ton of money writing here, but it’s not nothing, and I appreciate the extra income every month. I certainly don’t regret starting here, especially when I realized that my content was more for me and my catharsis than it was for making money. That said, I hate the thing that drove me here: that damned hustle culture.

I have been all over the map when it comes to the hustle. I’ve explored a variety of secondary and tertiary income streams, from blogging to real estate to hoarding nickels. Yes, really. It’s not…

--

--

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

I write about everything from my experience with mental illness to politics to philosophy. Much of my so-called "wisdom" is from Tumblr dot com. He/him/his.