Surely THIS Three-Day Weekend Will Cure My Crippling Burnout

I’ll be so refreshed after an extra day off!

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day
Published in
4 min readAug 29, 2024

--

A smiling person wearing a colorful wig and clown nose.
Photo by Agustin Fernandez on Unsplash

It’s Labor Day weekend soon, and I am so happy for it, because I’m more burnt out than a dead light bulb in hell.

And, because I’m an office grunt, I get to have an extra day off to celebrate all of the hard-won concessions that unions gained from capitalists a hundred years ago! Yay for the power of the people!

I mean, sure, most of those concessions have been clawed back by modern American robber-barons who have pet congresspeople and can afford to literally write the laws in their favor. And sure, there is a whole subclass of people (mostly mediocre white dudes) who actively defend these robber-baron billionaires despite it going against their best interest.

And everyone’s best interest, really, except maybe the billionaires and their pet congresspeople.

And sure, we live in a capitalist hellscape where we are all overworked, underpaid, and exploited into producing more and more capital for a very small group of mostly older white men who enrich themselves at our expense.

Also, we are all collectively burnt out from the later stages of a (still smoldering) global pandemic during which the robber-barons price-gouged us into oblivion. And…

--

--

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

I write about everything from my experience with mental illness to politics to philosophy. Much of my so-called "wisdom" is from Tumblr dot com. He/him/his.