Why Can I Maintain My Mental Health but Can’t Maintain My Home?

The growing cracks in my walls and brain.

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

--

Photo by Luis Villasmil on Unsplash

My partner and I bought a house in an urban area almost eight years ago now. The way I wrote that implies that my partner had a say; because my father is the person he is, she really didn’t, but that’s another story entirely.

The house we bought was over 100 years old when we bought it, and it had all the hallmarks of a century-old house: unfinished basement, stone foundation, and assorted cracks in the basement floor. As part of the inspection, we had the seller bring in a professional to assure us that the house wasn’t sinking; it wasn’t, so we bought it.

Well, after eight years there is all manner of cracks in the walls and I’m worried that the house will be unlivable soon. I’m also pretty sure that’s my brain blowing things out of proportion, but I haven’t had the energy to get someone to come out and tell me otherwise.

There are a lot of home maintenance chores that need doing but have been put off for a while now. Last year was very busy at work, and I spent a lot of my free time trying to de-stress. Now, the cracks in the walls are starting to show more and there are a bunch of random house tasks that need doing.

--

--

Matthew Maniaci
Thing a Day

I write about everything from my experience with mental illness to politics to philosophy. Much of my so-called "wisdom" is from Tumblr dot com. He/him/his.