Biz Dev for Agencies

How do you find clients?

michaeljgilmore
Things a Gilmore Learns
2 min readApr 29, 2014

--

Agency work is fun, challenging and ever-changing. The need for getting new clients is one that never changes but the way you do, does. I’ve been reading articles from various sources to learn more about how agencies find clients and setup meetings to show their work. I’m sharing my own experience with you as what I found is vague and usually a lead to a B2B site.

GET PERSONAL

This may seem like a “no no” in agencyland but it works for me. You need to network and keep things balanced between being personal and business in conversation. If you are all business, potential clients can tell they are being sold. If you come off too friendly, you won’t be taken seriously. It’s a lot like dating so be sure you ask questions and let the other person talk too. Having a killer business card is a great tool to get the right attention.

WHERE DO I NETWORK

To find the right place to find clients, ask yourself, “Where do my clients network?”. Trade shows are a good place to start. For example, if your client is in the auto industry, they most likely be at an auto show. If you are looking to still discover who your clients may be, attend a network after work event. Typically people who attend are looking for jobs but others are just looking to meet new people. These are good opportunities to see who is out there. I wouldn’t say that your ideal client is here but you really won’t know until you try. The point is to get out there and meet people.

FOLLOWING UP

The perfect time to follow up with someone is SOON. I follow up either that evening when I get home or first thing in the morning. I request informal meetings for coffee or lunch.

  1. It helps get you out of the office which I think helps productivity by getting you out for a bit to refocus.
  2. Even if it doesn’t turn out they are ideal client, they may know someone.

THE PITCH

The pitch varies but I really just like to meet, show work and have an open discussion. I like learning about what their business challenges are and what they have been using for solutions. Once you know this you can suggest solutions you offer.

THE CLOSE

I’d say this is the point of magic. You need to keep communicating, give good ideas and land on the right price. When that happens, you have a client.

--

--

michaeljgilmore
Things a Gilmore Learns

I'm into a little of everything... that has an electronic heartbeat. Currently developing apps in React Native, TVML and overseeing production @medlmobile