What’s A Virtual Reality To You?

Jonathan Linowes
Things I Did and Learned Today
3 min readDec 15, 2014

--

“I’ve been studying Virtual Reality recently. Have you heard of it? You wear these goggles that let you view stuff in 3D. It’s a very immersive experience, feels like you’re in a whole different world.”

What’s A Virtual Reality To You?

December 15, 2014

This weekend I attended a large family event with relatives and friends I haven’t seen for some time. It was an opportunity for me to share my enthusiasm for the emergence of Virtual Reality.

I’d start into a conversation saying, “I’ve been studying Virtual Reality recently. Have you heard of it? You wear these goggles that let you view stuff in 3D. It’s a very immersive experience, feels like you’re in a whole different world.”

Some people got it right away. Others not so much. Here’s how some of the conversations went:

“oh! cool!” was a typical response. Some people even know of Oculus Rift and its acquisition by Facebook earlier this year. I’d explain, the VR industry is where the iPod started and now we have smart phones. Its new, its happening, and its coming soon.

“I think I know what you’re talking about. I have a client who’s an architect and uses it to visualize buildings before they’re built.” Wow, really?! That is cool. Unlike the emerging low cost consumer devices, the current generation of VR equipment costs thousands of dollars. I’d love to be introduced and learn what they’re doing with VR.

“What a coincidence. I’m involved with a museum association and we have an upcoming contest for augmented reality games. Do you know anyone who could be a judge?” Seriously?! Yes, me! This sounds awesome. Museums like the Smithsonian and many others are a hotspot for this new technology. (AR is the sister of VR, where virtual images overlay the real world). Let’s talk.

“I don’t really use the Internet much… No, I haven’t heard of Google Glass either… But it all sounds very interesting.” I just wished I had my Oculus with me, because the only thing to do was give her a demo.

“I read about a company that’s working on storing your life experiences so you’ll live on after you die. Our bodies are just vessels we dont really need them.” She was not citing science fiction, she was serious. Either one of us had too many drinks at this point, or this company’s got some really long-term investors.

“I’ve heard of Second Life, is it like that?” (Second Life is hugely popular online community with over one million participants). And “My son is very social online, in games like World of Warcraft. I can see that VR would work.” Yep, Facebook seems to think it could work too. I tell about my social VR experience attending weekly VRChat meet ups with about twenty other enthusiasts around the country every Sunday evening.

“Oh, my son’s been bugging me for an Oculus Rift. I said, What would you want that for?” His teenage son was at the party too; we called him over. The three of us talked a long time about what VR is, and isn’t, and how cool it’s going to be. Whether he gets his Rift now or in a year or two, I know he’s going to get one.

“How do you have the time or interest to pursue things like this?” But I wondered, How do you not? I think it was Steve Jobs who said, the best way to predict the future is to invent it. I can’t think of anything more fun.

On my flight home I sat next to a 7 year-old kid I didn’t know. We talked the entire flight about video games. I opened my MacBook and showed him the little virtual world I’m building with the Unity3D game engine. He kept asking things like, “How can I add a new object into your game and make it do this or that?” I imagine he might become a famous Virtual Reality game designer one day and reflect, “I was inspired by some old man I met on an airplane when I was seven years old.”

--

--