Growing My Sinews

Kris Keppeler
The Must Go List
Published in
1 min readApr 21, 2017

Hypertrophy, that’s what the app said. A new workout routine from Gavin, our personal trainer. Gavin claims our tendons and joints will just love it.

An internet search indicates hypertrophy means enlargement of organs or tissue by increasing the cell size.

Gavin’s routines challenged me to dead lift my weight with a barbell, do more than 10 chin ups (with assistance, I’m not Hercules), and push a 45lb pound weight as fast as possible along the floor (it just sounds easy).

But this new conditioning resulted in novel sensations.

I completed the workout and spent cool down struggling to get my body parts functioning again.

Hypertrophy as defined by Kris: Increasing exercise reps till your limbs go numb. Let’s hope my tendons like it once they come back to life.

--

--

Kris Keppeler
The Must Go List

Writer, audiobook narrator, actor, and podcaster. Over 50 audiobooks narrated, https://tinyurl.com/mvrwu2xs. Do you have a story for me to narrate?