Student Profile — Reflections from a first year

Cambridge Faculty of Law
Think Cambridge Law
5 min readNov 30, 2021

One of our first-year students at Robinson, Ash, discusses their journey to Law and their impressions of Cambridge at the end of the first term.

Robinson College’s Bin Brook Bridge (Wikipedia Commons)

Tell us a bit about yourself — what do you feel is integral to your perspective as a student at Cambridge?

When I started my application process, studying at Cambridge seemed like an unattainable dream. I’m entirely state school educated, I’ve lived in a single parent household for most of my life, and I’m non-binary. There were a lot of things that I thought would stand in the way of being a successful Cambridge law student. Thankfully, I had nothing to worry about; I love studying law, and there’s nowhere I’d rather do it.

What subjects did you study at A-level and why did you pick them at the time?

My A-level subjects were English, history, and philosophy and ethics. I chose English because I enjoyed the analysis of the messages within texts, and how language can be used to evoke emotion and inspire action. History fascinated me at GCSE level, and I wanted to learn more about the incredible and, at times, unbelievable, lives of the people who came before us. Philosophy and ethics was my favourite subject, as I’m deeply curious about the nature of morality and what people value enough to protect with codes of ethics. I also did an AS-level in politics, which I chose because I wanted to understand more about how government influences people’s everyday lives.

How did you become interested in Law as a subject?

There was no single eureka moment when I realised that law was the subject for me. It was a slow process, born from a fascination with the world around me and a desire to understand how it worked. My first real experience with analysing law was my Extended Project Qualification (EPQ), which I did on potential reforms to the Gender Recognition Act 2004. It pushed me to challenge my assumptions about how the law was formed and how legislation impacts people. If you’re going to do an EPQ, and you’re interested in studying law at university, I highly recommend choosing a topic on an element of law that relates to another of your interests. It could be anything from data protection to road safety; if something exists, there will be laws governing it.

Ultimately, I chose to study law at the University of Cambridge for the same reason I chose my A-level subjects — I am endlessly fascinated by the complexity of society, the laws we’ve created to govern ourselves, and the ways we might use those laws to change our lives for the better.

Did you have any preconceived notions or worries about Cambridge?

I did have a few concerns about studying at Cambridge, mostly to do with whether I would fit in and be able to keep up with the other students, especially ones that came from private schools. I was pleased to discover that, despite the rumours, there was no real practical difference that separated students based on what kind of secondary school and sixth form/college we’d been to; we were all just as capable of handling the intense workload and challenging subject material. I’ll admit that the well-known imposter syndrome got to me during my first supervision when my mind went blank and I couldn’t remember what ‘actus reus’ meant, but my supervisor just smiled and reminded me. It was a comforting realisation that, yes, my professors might be world-renowned experts in their fields, but they remember what it was like to be a confused first-year, and all they asked of me was a willingness to learn.

What do you enjoy most about what you are studying, and what challenges have arisen?

Criminal law is my favourite topic at the moment, especially the lectures we had on causation at the start of our first term. It’s fascinatingly detailed and has a very tangible practical impact. As for challenges, the workload took me by surprise. At the moment, I have eleven hours of lectures, two supervisions, a two-hour seminar and roughly thirty hours of independent study a week. It was a big adjustment, but I found myself settling into a pattern within a fortnight. The trick is to find out when and where you work best. Night owls and early birds alike will be pleased to know that most college libraries are open 24/7 during term time, so you’ll never be without a cosy space to study.

What do you do in your free time, and how do you find balance with your studies?

I joined a poetry society, a Taekwondo club, and the Cambridge University Law Society, which I would highly recommend to any student at Cambridge who’s interested in law. My advice to achieve work-life balance is to make sure you make some time in your day for your other interests. There will always be another case you could analyse or a commentary article to read, but be careful not to let it take up every waking moment (however interesting it might be). It’s also important to realise that your work doesn’t have to be perfect — mistakes are a great opportunity to learn, and you’ll learn better if you make sure you look after yourself.

What advice would you give other students like yourself hoping to apply to study law?

Going to university is a huge jump and going to Cambridge can feel even more intimidating. Luckily, you don’t have to do it on your own. There are tons of free and easily accessible resources to help you along every stage of your journey, from deciding whether law is right for you (for which I would recommend Nicholas McBride’s well known book Letters to a Law Student) to preparing for interviews (you can find some great tips on the University of Cambridge’s YouTube channel). Above all, I would recommend doing an online course on a legal topic that interests you — they’re easy to fit in alongside your other commitments, and they’ll help you develop your knowledge and understanding of the law.

The single most important quality for any Cambridge student to have is a deep fascination with their subject, and law is no different. Let your interests guide you. You’ll end up in the right place.

--

--

Cambridge Faculty of Law
Think Cambridge Law

Articles from the Faculty of Law at the University of Cambridge