What You Can Do When You’re Down During Quarantine

A list of things I do when I’m down during quarantine.

Rayon Hutson
Think Out Loud w/ Rayon
4 min readMay 15, 2020

--

I know with the things that are going on in the world right now, people's minds’ aren’t at ease and that’s very understandable. For me, I overthink and being a junior in high school, [I think] my school is doing a little much with all the “New Assignment” notifications that keep popping up in my phone making me look like I don’t have friends (that was supposed to be funny). To be honest, I ignore them because they disrupt my peace.

FYI (I’m writing this after writing the part before and after as an update): I have talked to one of my teachers and now I feel better and I’m trying to finish the work.

I was using this quarantine to find myself and focus on my mental health. I don’t explain this to my teachers because I don’t think they would completely understand — which is understandable. I honestly just want to graduate already so I can be free.

That may not have sounded like anything that stressful, but it is to me and that’s why I do these things to get my mind in a good place:

1. Turn on “Do Not Disturb”

I have an iPhone, so I don’t know what this feature is called on android phones. I have my DND set to where notifications don’t pop up when my phone is locked and unlocked.

You’re probably wondering how do I know if somebody is trying to reach me for something important. Well, there is a setting that you can configure in the DND settings where you can let calls from your “Favorites” come through. You can configure your “Favorites” in the phone app.

2. Delete Social Media Apps

Don’t get me wrong, social media can be very useful at times, but the same way it can be useful is the same way it can play a big factor in messing with your mental health and peace.

I know I’m young and you might be thinking that I’m going to go crazy without social media, but I have tried avoiding social media apps for a few days because it becomes overwhelming when you go on there all the time.

Sometimes, I see depressing posts that make my mood drop quite a bit or I see crazy posts that make me get out of my character and forget that I am a child of God, so I tried taking a break from social media to focus more on actually relaxing and doing things that can benefit me in the future like sitting in silence and reflecting, watching tv, or trying to find more things I can do to add on to my streams of income and it worked.

3. Pray/Meditate

For me, prayer is great for when I’m feeling stressed and I need a reminder that God’s got me, but you can meditate too. Do what you want to do.

These things can help put your mind at ease and remind you that there is a higher power that has equipped you to take on any battle you may be facing if you believe there is a higher power.

4. Watch Childhood Shows

I don’t know about you, but for me, watching childhood shows that I haven’t seen in a long time gives nostalgic vibes. Some of my favorite childhood shows are The Parkers, iCarly, Victorious, The Suite Life of Zack and Cody, and That’s So Raven.

Childhood shows can remind you of a simpler time where you didn’t have so much to worry about. This can be very comforting.

5. Draw/Paint/Journal

Doing something creative is usually a great stress reliever because it allows you to express yourself freely.

6. Read a Book

It never hurts to expand your mind when you’re bored. I have not finished a book in years and I know that sounds bad, but I think it’s because I kinda have a short attention span when I read books [which still sounds bad lol].

Anyways, I have a few books that I would like to read that I think you guys might be interested in reading too:

“Boundaries” by Dr. Henry Cloud & John Townsend

“Rich Dad, Poor Dad” by Robert T. Kiyosaki

“Black Privilege” by Charlamagne (one of the host on The Breakfast Club)

7. Watch Netflix

I’m pretty sure a lot of people have been doing this already, but just in case that idea may have slipped some people’s minds because they’ve been very busy checking social media and seeing a lot of new info about COVID-19, I included this.

I have some show/movie recommendations if you’re interested:

All American

YOU

Dangerous Lies

Greenleaf

Ok, so, that’s pretty much the list. I hope you found something here that you can do when you’re down during quarantine.

--

--

Rayon Hutson
Think Out Loud w/ Rayon

I’m a 17 year old from Brooklyn, New York trying to make some money. Follow my publication. All my links: https://linktr.ee/iamrayonlouis