Learn Something New & Become Tougher

#362 Renovating an upper floor

Johan Rosenstrid
think-say-do
2 min readJul 29, 2017

--

If you’re going to write every day, you can’t always predict where you’re going to do it. Some times you will do it at a luxurious hotel, other nights you will sit on a floor. Why? Because the floor is where the internet connection is.

Some people might think it will be too hard to write some days, however, the toughness will which make it great. I’ve learned the most when it got tough when I did not know if I was going to be able to write something.

For example in London when I had four days filled with activities, and I was only able to sleep circa 4 hours per day. However, I found a way to write each day anyway.

The day

Today I’ve spent the day helping out with renovating a house. The upper floor is almost finished, and it’s where I will spend the night.

However, I choose to sit on the floor for an hour and write. I enjoy it being tough because it shapes my character in the long term.

Some people might think it’s boring to do physical work. The question is, how can you make it more enjoyable?

For the last month, I’ve shifted from listening to a lot of YouTube videos to audio books instead. It’s incredible how many books I’ve been able to go through, just by changing what I listen to.

Today while I worked I was able to go through 90 % of a book. This means that I was able to help out & learn at the same time. Awesome combo.

Your challenge

Do something that will toughen you up. Sleep on the floor, spend some days in the forest, spend a day without food for example. Find something that will be safe, however, still make you tougher.

Originally published at Johan Rosén.

Day 362 of 365 days doing something scary/thrilling/exciting

What’s happening next? Make sure to follow my journey on Facebook & on my e-mail Newsletter below.

--

--

Johan Rosenstrid
think-say-do

Making daily experiments and sharing it with the world. Done a 365-day challenge. www.johanr.com