7 Essential Steps to the Most Successful Seed Germination Ever

Don’t waste time with plants that don’t grow.

Cindy Heath
THINK sustainable

--

Photo by Zoe Schaeffer on Unsplash

Have you ever planted a whole row of seeds and only a few sprout?

Or carefully prepared and planted ten little pots of tomatoes on your window sill, only to have them become spindly and die?

I have had all these misfortunes and more on my way to becoming a competent gardener. We all learn from practice and mistakes, but I hope my experience can reduce the number of seed starting failures you have.

Whether you buy a young plant ready to go in the soil, grow transplants, or plant in the ground — each vegetable began as a seed.

Start with understanding a seed.

A seed is a dormant embryo and needs certain conditions to grow, primarily the proper moisture and warmth.

Every time I plant a seed, especially a tiny one, like arugula or a carrot, and it sprouts and becomes a delicious and nutritious plant, I’m amazed.

Take a minute and watch this one-minute time-lapse video of the first ten days of a bean plant’s life and tell me plants aren’t incredible.

--

--

Cindy Heath
THINK sustainable

I’ve been a farmer, entrepreneur, writer, and more. I'm passionate about nutrition, health, nature, and the rewards of personal writing.