The Sad Story Behind the Most Hated Vegetables in America

And what we can do to love them more.

Cindy Heath
THINK sustainable

--

America’s most-hated vegetable?

The most disliked vegetable in the U.K.?

When I saw these headlines, I had to read more. We’ve all seen the news about trending plant-based diets and how important it is to eat more vegetables — why would anyone not love them?

I admit I’m biased. As a former organic vegetable farmer, I love veggies in all their nutritious glory. Learning about all the varieties, how to grow them, and, most importantly, how to prepare them so more people will want to enjoy their delectable goodness.

So, back to the story. Here’s the scoop on the most unpopular vegetables in the U.S., listed from the most-hated lowly turnip, with a 27% yuck rating!

  • Turnip (27%)
  • Beets (26%)
  • Radish (23%)
  • Brussels sprouts (21%)
  • Artichoke (20%)
  • Eggplant (20%)
  • Butternut squash (20%)
  • Zucchini (18%)
  • Mushrooms (18%)
  • Asparagus (16%)

Now, a survey in the U.K. revealed folks there don’t hate them as much as the Americans…

--

--

Cindy Heath
THINK sustainable

I’ve been a farmer, entrepreneur, writer, and more. I'm passionate about nutrition, health, nature, and the rewards of personal writing.