I’m a Writer and I’m Not Perfect

Yes, I am ‘that’ kind of a writer

Emman James
Think Department
2 min readJul 6, 2017

--

Image Credit: Priscilla Du Preez

I see a whole new world when I read and I create worlds within worlds when I write…

I’m a writer and I make mistakes. Actually, I make errors more than a lot of people do. I write, mess up, edit, and repeat.

Most people think I’m perfect because I can write things that move people and draw emotions. What they don’t know is that it’s just the tip of the iceberg. What seems to be a perfect piece of art was once a messy pile of ideas.

What people think is a wonderful poem might not be as perfect as it is when its poet reads it, but what’s amazing is that writers tend to bring a spark of idea into reality. And it is not easy.

They say writers tend to create masterpiece when they feel extreme emotions. And I have to admit, I am that writer. And I’m also the kind of writer who can “create something out of caffeine.”

But above all else, I’m a reader… I cannot call myself a writer if I forget about the first part of writing which is reading. I learn new things when I read and I experience those things when I write. I see a whole new world when I read and I create worlds within worlds when I write…

But I am no God. I’m not perfect.

--

--

Emman James
Think Department

I make videos and stuff — to motivate, inspire, and encourage everyone to look at the bright side.