Hate should not be ‘fun’

Opey Adeyemi
ThinkDose
Published in
3 min readJul 28, 2017

Let’s talk about this.

I like this landscape.

Recently, through my hours of browsing social media, I became aware of a recurring issue that I see in our society. Obviously, I have noticed this in the past it has bugged me for a while but with the recent controversy regarding Jake Paul, I felt like I had to say something.

Internet justice is broken and I’ve outlined the main reasons I think so in one of my other posts, but lately there’s a slightly different issue. And it has to do with mindset.

The New Culture

See, fundamentally I don’t think there’s anything wrong in people being publicly criticized for their actions, just as long as the it’s actual criticism and not the malicious jargon that most people spew out these days. I think that public criticism should be the punishment for people who choose to do bad with their actions. My issue isn’t with the fact that people drag celebrities online for slipping up, my issue is that we’re slowly creating a positive and encouraging culture around it.

It’s becoming fun and trendy.

Hashtags like the #[someone]isoverparty only help to spread the notion that hating on people is some sort of fun activity. There are people who literally join these hate trains just to get a bit more exposure on their social media accounts.

This is a serious issue that I don’t think many people actually understand…

We’re literally creating a culture where, not only is it okay for people to effectively bully and degrade others, but also where it is 'cool' to do so.

Individuals are hailed on social media for how brutally they can insult someone else. And every day, more decide to join in with this toxic culture.

It’s almost ironic to me though. Funny how the self proclaimed activists of the world are now joining in with this negative trend. The very people who advocate positivity are viciously attacking others from behind their screens. What’s worse is that all sense of morality is lost. When the internet decides who’s next on the chopping block, it seems as though everyone else’s sins are instantly forgiven. People emphasize all the wrong that a certain individual has done just to quickly forget about it a few days later. And of course, when the subject of hate stops trending on Twitter, the keyboard warriors stop and wait until a new target emerges.

People are becoming more and more programmed to the trends every day. Simply following the crowd into mindless and ridiculous wars regarding issues that they’ve never researched and recycling the same insult they’ve used for every other war in the past.

We need to wake up.

Stop letting this ridiculous culture dictate your lifestyle. Are you really going to undermine your character just to hop on the bandwagon and support whatever hate campaign is going on at any given time?

Are you okay with knowing that your personality is completely predictable for anyone with access to the Twitter trending page?

There is enough negativity in the world already, when will people realize that? You hatred just adds to that mix. The funniest part is that everyone loves the rush of attacking other people for their mistakes but dreads the possibility that the tide can turn against them…All it takes is one misunderstood tweet to send all of that hatred you helped to perpetrate right back at you.

Treat others how you would want to be treated — Luke 6:31

My Challenge

I simply challenge you to fix your mindset.

Research topics to be informed and not just to form an opinion. Go into any dispute with the knowledge that you very well may be wrong. Offer criticism instead of hate.

Most importantly, watch yourself. It’s surprisingly easy to get caught in the wave of the internet’s attacks, so you need to consciously work toward breaking free. It’s not something that just sits in the back of your mind and manifests magically.

And in all, remember that Hate Should Not Be Fun.

Follow my Anchor, Twitter and Instagram accounts and feel free to reply with your opinion on this topic! I’d be really glad to hear from you! Thanks for reading and if you liked this post, drop me a recommend and a follow!

--

--