Some survival truths that a big Montana storm taught my small business.

3 stormy small business lessons that just may help me survive through 2021's Covid crisis.

Devin D. Marks
Thinker Thursdays™
3 min readJan 20, 2021

--

© 2021 by Devin D. Marks

A tree crashed on the main cabin; the eagle’s nest fell. Debris blocked the stream. Horses scurried from thudding branches.

For twodays and nights gusts hit 75 MPH. The rest of the time it blew, unlike anything the locals knew.

There were a few reasons for the mess. Low-quality trees. (Cottonwoods are disease-prone.) A freak storm. (It felt like we were in Kansas with Toto.) Shallow rootbeds. (Trees were in rocky, moist spots.)

No one got hurt. A backhoe was in action within hours. We’ll be telling the story for years, and gleaning lessons.

My impressions?

  • Whether on a property or in a business, “great ideas” can root in that yield problems over time.

Cottonwoods came with the property, but new evergreen choices are being planted.

  • Unexpected storms, wildfires, and pandemics may rage. Investments in relationships matter. A lot.

The backhoe operator was quick to respond because he had long been well-treated.

  • Even “quality evergreen” projects suffer in good soil. There are some spots where investments shouldn’t be made.

Good soil with room for growth matters. That cabin-hitting tree was rooted on a stream edge.

Big skies will throw storms your way. But a focus on quality, relationships, and tomorrow matters.

TAKE ACTION: 3 stormy small business lessons that may just help me survive through 2021's Covid crisis.

In this stormy season, small business survival requires a lot of leaders. Including that we both respond to the immediate, while not forgetting to prepare for the next crisis.

(1) FOCUS ON THE QUALITY CORE. Years ago, my business growth seemed like it should include speaker agency work for celebrities and VIPs — placing them on high-paying stages around the world. Thank god — for my sanity and my family life — I pulled that stressful weed. (Same thing for launching public relations for speakers.) Instead, I doubled down on our core expertise: specialized presenter training in the TED-style. I also pivoted in the virtual era, within that TED specialty, to offer Zoom Leadership training.) Who knew that decision 5+ years ago would allow my business to survive 2020 without layoffs or government bailouts. More investment in my team’s “evergreen” core services is the plan.

(2) LEAD BY SERVING RELATIONSHIPS. Years ago, I was mentored in the servant leadership philosophy. I began seeing the success of my vendors and contractors as central to mine. They aren’t disposable, short-term, gig-like relationships. Instead, they’re as important to my business growth as an employee or partner. One example: Shannon & Bryan Miles’ team at Belay Solutions has been a key factor in my business. When the storm of cv-19 hit, that loyalty mattered — and still matters. More relationships with good backhoe operators is my plan.

(3) SAYING “NO” NOW MEANS “YES” LATER. These days, I’m especially cautious about ensuring that my business growth (and future) is planned on solid ground. I’ve learned to say “no” more in 2021 to opportunities to expand in new directions. Instead, I’ve committed to doing less that’s new. I’m also zoning in on how to storehouse reserves for the next freak storm. For example, in 2021, there won’t be a “rebounding expansion” of my firm’s growth ambitions or services. We won’t be expanding into professional sports. I’ll bank that impulse. More aspen trees in deep soil is my plan.

THINKER THURSDAYS
Read. Reflect. Connect.

A weekly practice each Thursday for reading, reflecting, and connecting.

Join a weekly practice of reading, reflecting, and connecting: THINKER THURSDAYS. Kick off your Thursday with a short ‘zine exploring one topic from three angles: 3 topical articles, 2 TED talks, and 1 original reflection piece. (Short. Needed. Stimulating. Let’s call it a morning catalyst that moves you from curious to informed in six clicks. Espresso optional.) Join here.

--

--

Devin D. Marks
Thinker Thursdays™

The TED TALK Whisperer. Clients enjoy 1M+View TED Talks. Also grateful host of Thinker Thursdays™ ( Join: https://bit.ly/4bXSxK4)