A Day in the Life of a Customer Success Manager at Thinkific

Maddy Marchildon
Thinkific
Published in
5 min readOct 31, 2023

Hey there, I’m Maddy Marchildon, and I currently work as a Customer Success Manager at Thinkific. I’ve been with the company for nearly two years, starting out on the Support Team. My journey with Thinkific began when I was on the hunt for my next job opportunity. I was looking to transition into the tech world, and it was crucial to me that I found an organization that truly valued its people. I distinctly remember searching for terms like “Best Employee Culture, Tech Company, Vancouver,” and lo and behold, Thinkific popped up at the top of the list I stumbled upon!

A photo of me at the Thinkific HQ Office in Vancouver

My experience at Thinkific has indeed confirmed this reputation. One standout element, that has made a significant difference for me, is Thinkific’s flexible work environment. This means that our team has the freedom to work from home, our Vancouver HQ, a co-working space, a local coffee shop, or practically anywhere with a WiFi connection.

Regardless of where I am headed, my morning starts with a black coffee and a walk around my neighbourhood. I’m lucky enough to live pretty close to the Thinkific HQ office, so if I’m not working from home, I still get my daily walk-in, with one of the best commuting views in the city.

I love watching the world wake up and enjoying the beautiful gardens and parks in my area. I’m probably listening to a podcast, either about the news or pop culture, which helps me get into the right mindset for the day ahead.

Pictured here are some beautiful flowers in the local community garden by my house.

During the first part of the day, I check my emails to make sure there are no major incidents or important action items that need immediate attention. Then, I refer to my handy Asana task list and calendar to get a sense of what my day is looking like.

As a Customer Success Manager on the Scale team, I work collaboratively with a group of five team members to manage a large pool of Plus Customers. On Tuesday mornings, my team gathers for an informal huddle to connect. Since our team requires so much collaboration, these informal opportunities allow us to build personal relationships that ultimately support our ability to work together seamlessly.

After the team huddle, it’s time for my first customer meeting of the day. Before and after every call, I block out time in my calendar to fully prepare and wrap up each customer call. This approach ensures that I fully understand the scope and use case going into calls, enabling me to articulate strategic next steps for the customer effectively.

An example of what my calendar can look like, no two days are the same though.

Customer meetings are a favourite part of my day. I like to take at least 30 minutes to prepare for each meeting. There is never a dull moment with customer meetings; typically, we discuss the long-term strategy and success of the account as it relates to Thinkific. We also highlight how to utilize our various new product offerings to better support our Creators, such as our new Branded Mobile app.

By the time lunch rolls around, I’m itching to break free from my screen and get moving. I usually have my lunch all set and ready to go, so I can use my break for something fun. One of the cool things about our flexible work setup is that I get to call the shots on my schedule. So, on those days when I’m in need of a brain break, I can sneak in a mid-day workout. It’s not an everyday thing, but if my afternoon is meeting-free, I just shoot a quick message to my team lead, telling them I’m shifting my hours and I’m all set to break a sweat! Other days during my lunch break I’m knitting while watching TV. It’s all about balance!

A black knitted vest with the words “Lady Bird” on it. Next to a printed version of the Lady Bird Script.
One of my most recent projects combined my two favourite things, movies and knitting!

Between 3 pm and 5 pm, I have my sacred Heads Down Time. I block this period out in my calendar daily to dedicate to the various projects I’m working on. Currently, I’m focused on an extensive Site Audit for one of our Plus Customers. It’s during this time that I can really dive deep into the work and make significant progress. For a change of scenery in the afternoon, I love to head on over to one of my favourite coffee shops in the city where the wifi is strong and the lattes are stronger.

After my workday wraps up, I take a few minutes to tidy up my workspace, ensuring I can fully enjoy my evening without any work-related distractions. Not without checking my favourite social Slack channels, of course. One of my frequent visits is to #Z-Pets, where I can enjoy adorable videos and photos of my coworkers’ pets!

Pictured here is my coworker’s new puppy Nori.

Thank you for taking the time to read about a day in my life as a Customer Success Manager at Thinkific. Every day brings new challenges, exciting customer interactions, and opportunities to make a meaningful impact on our customers’ success with our platform. Being at an organization that encourages our team to live healthy balanced and enriched lives in all aspects, makes each day an enjoyable and rewarding one.

Want to learn more about #TeamThinkific? Check out Thinkific’s Career Page and join our Talent Community to learn more about what our team is put to, new job opportunities, company news, and more!

Stay connected with #TeamThinkific on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and LinkedIn.

--

--