America’s melting pot

emily_beach
Thinking & Action for Ethical Being
4 min readNov 5, 2015

What: The United States has been described as a mixing pot since the nation’s birth. People from all walks of life travel miles to be within the country’s borders in hopes of fulfilling the ‘American Dream’. In the Outcasts, this migration is exemplified by the refugees that move to Clarkston. People from different backgrounds mix together to form a new community with different views and experiences. This form of community building can also be seen in AVID. The students come from different backgrounds and at times have opposing view points of the world. Some students’ families moved from their native countries to find a better home for their families. Others have been settled in the San Rafael area for generations. However, all students connect when in the classroom. They are all willing to work together and put their differences aside in order to learn and become better students.

So What?: This commonality between the citizens of Clarkson and the students of AVID demonstrate that though the nation consists of people of different heritages and skin color, it is possible to find common ground. This melting pot impacts the decisions made in the country. By voicing opinions that impact the people of mixed communities, changes can happen in order to help benefit its people. It is important to not only be involved in communities that allow the exposure of mixed opinions and viewpoints, but it is also important to understand their perspectives and why their opinion matters as much as any other. By learning and understanding the lives of those around us, whether it be in Clarkson or at San Rafael High, everyone can play their role in collective responsibility.

My role in my community outreach program is to help students understand their school work and to be a guide when times get tough outside the classroom. I work to ensure that the students feel safe and happy in and outside of school. I work to understand their backgrounds and perspectives. In doing so, I hope to be playing my part in collective responsibility.

Now What? My partner works to provide a platform for students to feel safe mentally, physically, and emotionally. AVID is a program that does not discriminate based on race, rather it welcomes students of different backgrounds to share their experiences and view points in order to help fellow students understand the complex concepts of the modern world. It is within itself a mixing pot, resembling much of America’s make up.

While tutoring grade 11 AVID students, I noticed a young girl limping. I asked her if she was okay and if she needed anything. She looked tired and in slight pain when she replied, “I’m fine. It’s been like this for years.” I did not know what to say in response. How could someone so young be in pain and not have the help she needed to feel better? I later found out that she had hurt herself in a sporting accident and because the injury was inoperatable, she would have this pain for the rest of her life. When it came time to ask the presenter questions, I saw her rubbing her eyes and telling herself to stay awake. She took to her notes and asked questions to the presenter that would ultimately lead to the answer. She looked at me with her big brown eyes and I could tell that a part of her did not want to be there. She told me she had been up since 5 am because her mother had to go to work and she was in charge of getting her siblings ready and out the door in order to beat traffic when driving across the Richmond bridge. This young girl had more responsibility than I had when I was her age, and yet she continued to sit quietly and do her work in class knowing she would have to do the same thing the next day. She was tired and exhausted from juggling school work, homework, her many siblings, and household responsibilities. She gave me a small snapshot into her chaotic life and showed me that even when your plate is full, it is okay to not be hungry. This story ties to the lesson of the melting pot because AVID has given me the opportunity to see past myself and into the lives of those around me. It has allowed me to see the perspective of a student from a different background and has opened my eyes to the struggles of another.

America’s melting pot not only gives the nation a bit of flavor and a mix of culture, but it gives its citizens an opportunity to learn about the world around them, even if that means talking to a young girl with a hurt knee.

--

--