No More Suffering

Laura Contreras
Thinking & Action for Ethical Being
3 min readSep 16, 2015

Haiti is one of the poorest countries in the world. Ranging from poverty to sexual abuse, Haitian people cannot escape the clutches of an impoverish society. Dr. Farmer uses his writing to discus the importance of bringing these issues to light in order to make change. Using personal stories from two Haitians and himself, he allows to visualize and feel the emotions of the horrible lives.

Haiti is suffering. The cause of this suffering is due to structural violence that appears to be brought on by the military. According to Dr Farmer, the military would “tax women who went into the market with impoverish fines, [and to other women they taxed] them with flirtatious glances.” This alone brings poverty and rape to the society which ultimately leads to the cause of suffering. Healthcare is another issue. Dr. Farmer believes that healthcare should be universal. To many people in the world, universal healthcare is not a topic to discuss. In America, healthcare brings along a turmoil of viscous attacks from each party. How is he to believe that a military government that beats random citizens is going to induct a universal healthcare plan in Haiti. Once again, the lack of healthcare causes suffering. When you take away someones right to care and medicine, you might as well just say they are not human. These are human rights that everyone deserves. Haitian people are dying from diseases that here in the states we can cure with one visit. A woman should not have to worry if her newborn child will make it to one year old or if she is able to give birth properly.

The story of Acephie is heartbreaking. I cannot imagine having to believe that sex with a Captain “will help protect her family”. To be so poor and result to sex is just unimaginable. I know it happens in the states too, but they get paid for it. Acephie’s life was terrible. She was basically forced into a relationship with the captain, found a decent man she thought she could marry when the captain died, and then got thrown out when she was pregnant. Because of the lack of medical care, Acephie died soon after giving birth to her child because of AIDS. She did not suffer alone. Her whole family suffered. Her father decided the only way out of suffering was suicide. This is just one story. I can only imagine how many other stories there are that are just like Acephie’s. A person does not deserve to go through all of these tragedies.

The 60 minute video showed the personal relationships Dr. Farmer had with some of the patients. They “missed him when he was gone” and would bring him “chickens and eggs” as a form of payment for their care. These people have nothing. They respect Dr. Farmer so much that they are willing to give up a food source for his care. At the end he received a letter from a patient, but was too emotional to read it outloud. I have only been to one day of volunteering and already two girls have formed a bond with me. One took my hand and had me walk her to class. While she was sitting she told me “I was her favorite out of everyone she had met.” I was shocked. Towards the end of the class, the girl I had been working with came up to me and gave me two pictures she drew. One had my name written in cursive with stars everywhere, while the other was a sunny day with stick drawings of her and I. I was so touched. I did not think I could make a difference in two girls lives within 2 hours. I can only hope to see what I can gain from them.

--

--